1. Home
  2. Specific Platform Questio...
  3. Shopify/Shopify Plus
  4. Will our customers’ accounts be retained when we migrate to Shopify?

Will our customers’ accounts be retained when we migrate to Shopify?

When migrating to Shopify, your customers’ key information – such as names, email addresses, billing, and shipping details – will be successfully transferred. However, passwords cannot be migrated because of Shopify’s encryption and security policies. This means all migrated customer accounts will appear as “deactivated” in your Shopify admin.

Shopify Customer accounts use passwordless sign-in, so your customers don’t need their old passwords or account activation emails. To enable customer account access after migration:

  • Click Save.
  • From your Shopify admin, go to Settings > Customer accounts.
  • In the Sign-in links section, turn on Show sign-in links.

Your customers can then click the account or sign-in icon on your storefront, enter the email address associated with their migrated profile, and use the one-time six-digit verification code sent to their email. Shopify will connect them to the corresponding customer profile, where they can access their information and migrated order history.

In case you have any other questions, please email us at [email protected].

Was this article helpful to you? No Yes 1

How can we help?